Thracians in Bulgaria are considered the Bulgarians living or born in geographical region Thrace, including its Aegean and Edirne area. The Thrace region in Bulgaria is made of around 9 administrative districts: Burgas, Kardzhali, Pazardzhik, Plovdiv, Smolyan, Sliven, Stara Zagora, Yambol and Haskovo.
Haskovo’s Thracian Organization exists since 1919; however it was officially established after IV Regular Assembly in 1920, when many cities across Bulgaria began to establish cultural-charity associations of the Thracian refugees. Haskovo’s Organization is one of the first ones and unites nearly 6000 people. The organization is very active. Its’ first chairman was Kosta Georgiev; later on he became Head of the National Movement of the Thracian Refugees. The organization existed and operated until 1934, when it was dissolved under the law banning political parties. Later it was restored as a cultural-charity associations, as it still exists today under the name Georgi Sapunarov Thracian Society, Haskovo.